Skip to content Skip to navigation

Take action for greyhounds!

Florida residents can act now to help put an end to abusive greyhound racing

Florida has the chance to put an end to abusive greyhound racing. A historic Constitutional Amendment has been introduced by Senator Tom Lee. Florida has 12 of the remaining 18 tracks and is the only reason the industry is hanging on in our country.

This Constitutional Amendment would phase out racing and would decouple greyhound racing from other forms of gambling, ultimately ending the practice in the state. Florida tracks are not required to report greyhound injuries to the public, but we know that as many as 8,000 dogs are confined for 20-23 hours per day in cages too small for the dogs to even stand normally. Injuries, death and abuses are all too common. The General Provisions Committee and the Executive Committee of the Florida Constitution Revision Commission (CRC) both approved this proposal, which is now headed to the Executive Committee and they need to hear from you!

In the next phase, the full Constitution Revision Commission (CRC) will hold public hearings around the state. At these hearings they will take public testimony on all pending proposals, including Proposal 67 to phase out greyhound racing. To speak, you simply need to show up and fill out an appearance form. When you are called, you will be given a few moments to tell Commissioners why they should support Proposal 67.

If you can, please attend a CRC public hearing near you!

Central Florida
WHEN: Monday, February 19, 1:00-7:00 PM
WHERE: Eastern Florida State College
King Center
3865 North Wickham Road
Melbourne (Brevard County)

Northeast Florida
WHEN: Tuesday, February 20, 1:00-7:00 PM
WHERE: University of North Florida
Herbert University Center
12000 Alumni Drive
Jacksonville (Duval County)

Northwest Florida
WHEN: Tuesday, February 27, 1:00-7:00 PM Central Time
WHERE: University of West Florida
Conference Center & Ballroom
11000 University Parkway
Building 22
Pensacola (Escambia County)

Tampa Bay Area 
WHEN: Tuesday, March 13, 1:00-7:00 PM
WHERE: University of South Florida – St. Petersburg
University Student Center
6th Ave S
St. Petersburg (Pinellas County)

If you live in Florida, we are asking you to call or email the Commissioners on the Executive Committee. Together, we can be a strong voice for greyhounds and finally put an end to this inhumane practice.

Calling is easy! It can be as simple as "Commissioner ______, I am calling today to express my support as a Florida resident for CRC proposal 67 to protect racing greyhounds. Please support the amendment so Florida residents can have their voices heard on the 2018 ballot."

If you are sending an email, you can copy and paste these email addresses:
Jose.Armas@flcrc.gov; Carlos.Beruff@flcrc.gov; Pam.Bondi@flcrc.gov; Lisa.Carlton@flcrc.gov; Timothy.Cerio@flcrc.gov; Hank.Coxe@flcrc.gov; Jose.Diaz@flcrc.gov; Erika.Donalds@flcrc.gov; Anna.Gamez@flcrc.gov; Tom.Grady@flcrc.gov; Marva.Johnson@flcrc.gov; Arthenia.Joyner@flcrc.gov; Frank.Kruppenbacher@flcrc.gov; Gary.Lester@flcrc.gov; Patricia.Levesque@flcrc.gov; Roberto.Martinez@flcrc.gov; Rich.Newsome@flcrc.gov; Jeanette.Nunex@flcrc.gov; Darryl.Rouson@flcrc.gov; William.Schifino@flcrc.gov; Chris.Smith@flcrc.gov; Bob.Solari@flcrc.gov; Chris.Sprowls@flcrc.gov; John.Stemberger@flcrc.gov; Carolyn.Timmann@flcrc.gov; Nicole.Washington@flcrc.gov; Emery.Gainey@flcrc.gov; Brecht.Heuchan@flcrc.gov; Darlene.Jordan@flcrc.gov; Fred.Karlinsky@flcrc.gov; Belinda.Keiser@flcrc.gov; Sherry.Plymale@flcrc.gov; Pam.Stewart@flcrc.gov; Jacqui.Thurlow-Lippisch@flcrc.gov