Skip to content Skip to navigation

Host a humane euthanasia training

HSUS Approved Euthanasia Instructors

As a movement, we are now, thankfully, closer than ever to the day when euthanasia will be reserved only for animals who are suffering or are too aggressive to safely reside in our communities. Although The HSUS does not provide direct euthanasia training, we do believe that when the difficult decision is made that euthanasia is the only option, it is critical to ensure it is performed as humanely as possible. The following individuals have been licensed to use the HSUS course curriculum on performing humane euthanasia, based on the HSUS’ Euthanasia Reference Manual. You can engage one of these instructors to host a training at your facility, or view a calendar of current trainings being taught by one of these instructors.

Name Contact Info Organization Location
Cathy Y. Anderson, DVM cathyyanderson@aol.com Private Practitioner Brighton, MI
Dave Balz wyhumaneone@cs.com Wyandot County Humane Society Upper Sandusky, OH
Jennifer Brehler jbrehler@ashevillehumane.org Asheville Humane Society Asheville, NC
Shirene Cece, DVM scece@michiganhumane.org Michigan Humane Society Bingham Falls, MI
Renee Harris, CVT top2cats@gmail.com Top2cats Consulting San Diego, CA
Damon March dmarch@shelterservices.org Humane Society Management Services Reading, PA
Christian Nash cnash@lexingtonhumanesociety.org Lexington Humane Society Lexington, KY
Dr. Becky Rhoades drbecky@rrsheltersolutions.com Shelter Solutions Deland, FL
Dr. Karen Sheppard karen.sheppard@huntsvilleal.gov Huntsville Animal Services Huntsville, AL
Matt Smith mattsmith66@clearwire.net   Charlotte, NC